## **Minutes**

## Special Meeting of the Board of Education Unified School District No. 473, Chapman, KS

April 4, 2023

Brenda Edleston, School Board President, called the *Special* meeting of the Board of Education to order at 7:19 am at the Education Center located at 822 N. Marshall, Chapman, KS.

Board Members Present: Brenda Edleston, President, Jerry Wright and Todd Frieze in person; Brian Rock, Vice-President, Kelly Kuntz and Mike Rutz were on ZOOM

(Betsy Edwards arrived at 7:20 am)

Also Present: Kevin Suther - Superintendent and Michele Sutter - Board Clerk

Mike Rutz made the motion to adopt the agenda. Jerry Wright seconded the motion; motion carried 6-0.

(Betsy Edwards in at 7:20 am)

Brenda Edleston made the motion for the Board to go into Executive Session for (10) minutes at 7:20 am in order to discuss personnel items pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA and the open meeting will resume in the Board room at 7:30 am. Jerry Wright seconded the motion; motion carried 7-0. Superintendent Suther was invited into the session.

(Todd Frieze stepped out to take a phone call at 7:22 am; he returned to the session also at 7:22 am)

(The Board returned to open session at 7:30 am)

Brenda Edleston made the motion for the Board to go into Executive Session for (5) minutes at 7:30 am in order to discuss personnel items pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA and the open meeting will resume in the Board room at 7:35 am. Jerry Wright seconded the motion; motion carried 7-0. Superintendent Suther was invited into the session.

(The Board returned to open session at 7:35 am)

Mike Rutz made the motion to approve the (2) personnel items presented to the Board. Betsy Edwards seconded the motion; motion carried 7-0.
New Hires:
Hannah Christofer - Chapman Middle School ELA Teacher
Ashley Stearns - Chapman Elementary Principal
Betsy Edwards made the motion to adjourn. Brian Rock seconded the motion; motion carried 7-0.
Meeting adjourned - 7:36 am
Brenda Edleston; Board President
Michele Sutter; Clerk of the Board